Wednesday, January 20, 2021

SPORTS | 21-05-2019 13:41

Scaloni delivers a shock as he names Argentina's squad for Copa América

Agüero recalled, with River Plate left back Milton Casco a shock name in the squad. Meanwhile, there's no place for Sevilla right-back Gabriel Mercado or controversial Inter Milan forward Mauro Icardi.

Argentina's national team coach, Lionel Scaloni, has named the 23 players who will wear the Albiceleste shirt at this year's Copa América – and he sprung a surprise or two in doing so.

Simultaneously, the list was released on social media around midday, while officials from the Argentine Football Association (AFA) revealed the names to journalists via a big screen at the organisation's headquarters in Ezeiza.

Manchester City striker Sergio 'Kun' Agüero has been recalled after months in the cold, while River Plate left back Milton Casco is the shock name in the squad.

Other notable call-ups include Esteban Andrada (Boca), Franco Armani (River), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Ángel Di María (PSG), Nicolás Otamendi (Manchester City) and Exequiel Palacios (River).

Meanwhile, there's no place for Sevilla right-back Gabriel Mercado or controversial Inter Milan forward Mauro Icardi. Racing Club's Matías Zaracho and Grémio's Walter Kannemann aso miss out.

Agüero's return is particularly notable – the ex-Independiente star has been in prolific form this season in the Premier League.

Speaking at the press conference, Scaloni said his staff believe they have selected "the best players we consider at this time, for an important moment of the national team."

He admitted that some players "left out through injury, but they were always in our consideration."

The Copa América spans 26 matches, running from June 14 to the July 7 final. Matches will take place across five host cities: Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo, Belo Horizonte, Salvador and Porto Alegre .

Argentina kick off their campaign on June 15 against Colombia (7pm kick off), before moving on to face Paraguay on June 19 (9.30pm). They close their group stage matches with a game against Qatar on June 23 (kick off 3pm).



Goalkeepers: Esteban Andrada (Boca Juniors), Franco Armani (River Plate), Agustin Marchesin (America de Mexico).

Defenders: Renzo Saravia (Racing), Nicolas Otamendi (Manchester City), Juan Foyth (Tottenham), German Pezzella (Fiorentina), Ramiro Funes Mori (Villarreal), Milton Casco (River Plate), Nicolas Tagliafico (Ajax), Marcos Acuna (Sporting Lisbon).

Midfielders: Rodrigo De Paul (Udinese), Leandro Paredes, Angel Di Maria (Paris Saint-Germain), Roberto Pereyra (Watford), Giovani Lo Celso (Real Betis), Guido Rodriguez, Exequiel Palacios (River Plate).

Strikers: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Matias Suarez (River Plate), Lautaro Martínez (Inter Milan).




related news

In this news


More in (in spanish)