Buenos Aires Times

sports WORLD CUP

Chile join Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay in 2030 World Cup bid

Piñera said he had been touting his idea to to the presidents of Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay for several months.

Thursday 14 February, 2019
Chilean President Sebastian Piñera.
Chilean President Sebastian Piñera. Foto:AFP/Filippo MONTEFORTE

More Sports News

Chile is joining the Latin American bid to bring the world cup to the region in 2030.

Argentina, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay are to submit a joint bid to host the 2030 World Cup, Chile's President Sebastian Piñera announced on Thursday.

Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay had already submitted a joint bid to host the centenary edition of football's most prestigious tournament, but Piñera said on Twitter that the those countries' presidents had agreed to Chile's participation in the "joint candidacy."

Argentina and Uruguay originally announced their intention to submit a joint bid in 2017 before Paraguay joined the group later that year.

In December last year, Bolivia's football-mad president Evo Morales offered those three countries help in their bid, proposing "two or three departments as sub-seats" for the competition. Had his offer been accepted, it would have meant the Hernando Siles Reyes stadium in La Paz potentially included as a host venue.

Piñera said he had been touting his idea to to the presidents of Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay for several months.

Uruguay hosted and won the inaugural World Cup in 1930, Chile was the venue in 1962 and Argentina emulated its neighbour's achievement by lifting the trophy on home soil in 1978.

Like Morales, Mauricio Macri of Argentina, Uruguay's Tabaré Vázquez and Paraguayan Mario Abdo Benítez are all passionate about football having all been president of a club in their countries.

Piñera is a billionaire businessman who started out as a teacher and has no previous connection to football.

The South American bid faces competition from Morocco and potentially several other joint bids, including one from Britain and Ireland and another by an eastern European confederation of Greece, Serbia, Bulgaria and Romania.

Spain's Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez has even mooted a joint bid with Morocco, which has failed five times in bidding to host the World Cup, and Portugal.



Top Stories

  1. 1MercadoLibre secures US$1.85B investment led by PayPal, DragoneerMercadoLibre secures US$1.85B investment led by PayPal, Dragoneer
  2. 2Horrifying video of New Zealand massacre tests websites' ability to curb violent content
  3. 3Cristina Fernández de Kirchner meets with Raúl Castro in Cuba
  4. 4Pope nixes resignation of French cardinal who protected a predatory priest
  5. 5Prosecutors request arrest of Techint CEO Paolo Rocca
  6. 6Messi the centre of attention as Albiceleste squad meets in Madrid
  7. 7IMF staff approves release of US$10.87-billion tranche of loan
  8. 8Danish Queen Margrethe II arrives in Buenos Aires for official visit
  9. 9Blood results fail to show Natacha Jaitt consumed cocaine prior to death
  10. 10Trump wades into Melania 'body double' conspiracy theory